An in depth look at Boy Meets Girl

film festival was first introduced to me one afternoon while sitting in a course at Queen’s University. There I was siting in the Biosci Auditorium on a Thursday morning when three unknown individuals walking into the lecture hall to inform approximately 400 students all about the Reelout film Festival. I was intrigued almost instantly with the purpose of the Reelout film festival. I felt as though this film festival is one that reaches out to the community to let us know that there are more than the stereotypical heterosexual romantic movie, there are more than those sport filled action type movies. The Reelout Film Festival is one that does a good job at reaching out to provide a balance between gender and race through the use of popular culture.

The three presenters informed students of the class how to go about buying tickets to this festival and me being myself, I thought that I could get away without buying tickets ahead of time. But boy was I wrong! It was the day before my movie was to be shown and I checked online to see that the movie I was interested in was all sold out! I was very interested in the movie Boy Meets Girl not only because I would get to look at the soft skinned, blue-eyed beauty, Michael Welch throughout the entire film but mostly because I was interested in the story line which included your stereotypical romantic-comedy but with a transgendered girl.

So there I was 24 hours before my movie was going to be aired without a movie ticket,. To be sure I attended a movie at this festival I had bought a ticket to the movie “First Period” which was to be showed on Friday evening. However, I so desperately wanted a viewing to Boy Meets Girl that my determined self decided to hike on downtown to the screening room an hour and a half before tickets were being sold. I understood that there were only approximately 7 tickets left at the door but that was not stopping me from attempting to see this movie. An hour and a half past and I was 7th in line and I got my ticket! I now was in the theater ready to see this movie that I my determined self wanted to see. There I was making some new friends that were from upper year gender courses who were 8th and 9th in line chatting the entire time about whether or not they were going to get in. Sure enough, we all got in to the screening because the roads were bad thus multiple people didn’t show!

There I was on Wednesday, February 4th in a theatre that holds about 80 people filled with the awful stench of popcorn sitting front and center. Due to some technological issues the movie didn’t actually start showing until about 7:20. Boy Meets Girl was about a 22-year-old transgendered girl: Ricky, living in the state of Kentucky. She was someone who has never dated before and just wanted to experience love. Her best friend Robby from childhood was with someone who was always with her throughout the entire film he was a friend that stuck by Ricky’s side no matter what and was there to always talk. One day while working in a coffee shop Ricky meets an attractive young female, Francesca who is at the time engaged to her fiancé, David who is off with the Marines in Afghanistan. From the time in the coffee shop and on Francesca and Ricky spark an instant relationship, which is when some jealousy traits start to be revealed from Ricky’s friend, Robby.

The movie Boy Meets Girl is one that included an easy to follow story line. The simple story behind this film is about a transgendered girl experimenting to find true love. Now with Ricky sexually identifying herself as a female this leads to her to be a sexual minority throughout the movie, which then leads to other issues that people have with Ricky. However, Ricky’s character was made out to be someone who was clearly comfortable in her own skin and was not afraid to stand her own ground. I thought overall, the movie did a great job in representing that all though you may be minority in society, you are capable to stand your own ground and it reminded movie watchers that you have the freedom to be who you want to be and love whom you want to love.

The movie has specific scenes, which clearly represent homophobia. The one that comes to mind most is when Francesca was skyping her fiancé, David and he made it completely clear that there was no way Ricky could be a girl because she grew up a boy. He also wanted to be clear that Francesca was to no longer be hanging around Ricky and she should be referring to her as a boy. It was an instant conversation changer when Francesca had mentioned Ricky’s name. This scene had a lot of significance to a class like Gender, Race and Popular Culture. It demonstrated an act of homophobia but it also demonstrated a class act of how to handle it. Francesca was not pleased with the way David had acted regarding Ricky and she would not stand for it. If there were more people like Francesca in society, there would be less hate around. Lastly, the film reveals examples of gender spectrum, when Robby is portrayed as the hotshot boy who has experienced multiple sexual relations with other girls. But in the end, he ends up with Ricky. Proving that he was just confused about who he wanted! This proves that gender isn’t all black and white but it is about experiencing the spectrum of it all.

The movie Boy Meets Girl, was one that honestly kept me on the edge of my chair throughout the entire movie even though it wasn’t an action filled movie. There were scenes that had viewers guessing and assuming about what was going to happen. This is a film I would most definitely recommend watching!

3 comments

  1. curlyfrypoutine · February 22, 2015

    I am extremely interested in viewing “Boy Meets Girl” after reading your film review! I appreciate your discussion regarding homophobia and how Reelout serves as a sort of counterbalance to mainstream Hollywood cinema by focusing on minorities – in this case, a transgendered woman. From your post, I gather that “Boy Meets Girl” was a generally uplifting movie, encouraging individuality and conquering society’s labels. I think that it is very important that films like this reach today’s society, instead of repeating the same, wrung-out story lines about a Caucasian man falling in love with a Caucasian woman – not that I think that there’s anything at all wrong with that story line, but more that I think the media needs to diversify if we are ever going to achieve equality.

    I also really liked what you said about the gender spectrum and how Robby and Ricky end up together, despite Robby’s sexual relationships with women. I would love to hear more from you about how their relationship developed throughout the course of the film – particularly the turning point at which Robby realized that he had feelings for Ricky, and again the point at which he was willing to try and overcome the prejudice that society would throw at him for being in a relationship with a transgender woman in the pursuit of love.

    Like

  2. thelazyriser · February 23, 2015

    This sounds like a really great movie to watch! I really enjoyed reading your post on it. I like how you highlighted how the movie featured a sexual minority and I feel as though this movie also humanized her, often in society those who are not the majority can be viewed as completely different, lacking in anything that would make them similar to the rest of society, however I think this movie revealed that really, people are people no matter who you are. I really enjoy the message of being yourself and trusting that the people who stick by you are the people you want around you anyways. Ricky represent how with bravery, minorities can step out of the oppression and live a positive, happy life. I like how the movie was also real in that it showed that the path to being oneself is hard, as evident by the way Ricky experienced homophobia, often I think we are fed the lie that when you step out and accept who you are things will get easier. Often people ignore the fact that even when you are overcoming adversity, life is still hard. It sounds like this movie revealed a very real yet inspirational story about the struggles and success of overcoming adversity.
    -thelazyriser

    Like

  3. 4pce · February 23, 2015

    The idea of Robby ending up with Ricky is very intriguing to me. The filmmakers chose to use what the audience would view as a typical heterosexual male for Robby and I think this choice is key in the message they were attempting to send. The actor, Michael Welch, appears to conform to accepted terms of male beauty and his female suitors and gender specific clothing allow the audience to see something the recognize and could find anywhere both in the media and their own lives. Ricky is an “other” character because of her transition. If the filmmakers had made Robby for example antisocial, androgynous, or even possessing bad hygiene, audiences would be able to cast their coupling into an “other” category and not consider on the same relatable level as heterosexual couples in the media. With their choice of actor, as well as costumes, styling, etc. the audience is unable to do this and must therefore accept the idea that trans issues or experience are not limited to an “other” category.

    Like

Leave a Reply

